4 Things I Am Loving Right Now.

1. Words

I try so hard not to use so many of them but alas it is a skill I am yet to master! I love words! I love to craft them so that they say exactly what I want them to. I love that I don’t have to be satisfied with a mediocre sentence, when with a little effort and my trusty thesaurus I can turn it into something wonderful, emotive and tangible.

I guess I feel that language is my art. Like a sculptor; I feel the words, weigh them and shape them. Like a chef I season what I write with sweet, sour, salt and spice. The pen is my brush, the page my canvas and my imagination the only limitation to what I can create.

2. Our Dog Winnie

We got Winnie the year we got married 1999. We were young, just 20 & 21 and the idea of starting a fur family was really exciting to us. So one December evening we saw a notice advertising free puppies and that is how Miss Winnie came to be a Hunter…

She is a Samoyed cross Kelpie who has run away more times than I can remember, but thankfully we have always got her back! When Jarrod arrived in 2001, she accepted him as the litter mate she had always wanted; the two have been fast friends and partners in crime ever since! I was very disturbed to find out that she is now classified as a canine senior citizen, to us she will always be the weird looking little black ball of fluff we fell in love with nearly 11 years ago!

3.  Brotherly Love

Yes these are my boys. Sigh… For 8 years it was just Shaun, Myself and Jarrod, we were The Three Amigos and we did everything together as a very tight unit. We even travelled to China and walked on the Great Wall.

Yet noting comes even remotely close to the wonderful privilege of watching Jarrod finally become a big brother. You see, while we have shared mostly great times as a family of three; one thing we also shared was a miscarriage in 2006. The very morning after we told Jarrod that there was a baby on it’s way, the worst happened. My special little man was there with me holding my hand while I cried, with wide eyed understanding of the profound loss . He still speaks of ‘our baby that died’.

So knowing all of that, you can see how full our joy has been at Sammy’s arrival. To describe the boys bond is impossible. They share a world of love to which I am not privy, and yet from my spectators seat on the outside my heart bursts with joy at the relationship so long awaited by one, and so wholly adored by the other.

4. The Rain.

I know it sounds cliched but I love the rain! I am a girl who grew up in Central Victoria under a corrugated tin roof.  So to me there is nothing quite like the sound of those first few drops thwacking on the roof, harbingers of the myriad drops to come. I no longer live under a tin roof, but after these drought plagued years, there is something decadently delicious about muddy puddles. There is something infinitely magical about the new cover of green over the land. There is something desperately romantic about the city streets and their rainbow reflections on a rainy night. I love the rain; it crystalizes my attention in the moment, yet gently coaxes the delicate flowers of childhood memories back into the light.


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie Giddings
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 05:32:59

    Nice one Amelia….

    I must admit that sometimes when you talk to me, I do not understand what you are saying and since meeting you, my vocabulary has expanded , sometimes against my will. I have even used a semicolon of late (though I am not sure how to spell it?).

    You conveniently did not mention above that when it comes to words, that you can also swear in German!

    Reply

    • ameliahunter
      Jul 24, 2010 @ 09:04:57

      Natalie,
      when I am talking to you, sometimes I don’t understand what I am saying. As to your vocabulary, this is a thing of which I am unashamedly proud. Never forgetting that you too have introduced me to new words: impactful and scaredier are two which jump to mind, Webster would be impressed. Maybe.

      btw you spelled semicolon right;o)

      xx

      Reply

  2. Rebekah
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 20:59:34

    Hi Beautiful Amelia,

    I promised I would find your Blog and I did. It’s so lovely. What a beautiful way to express who you are and share a piece of yourself with the world!

    Reply

    • ameliahunter
      Jul 27, 2010 @ 04:34:57

      Thanks Rebekah!

      I am so glad you found me 🙂 I am just finding my way around so I do tend to go on a bit! Keep popping an and commenting! It makes my day!!

      xxoo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

