The Waters of My Mind.

I am taking baby steps when it comes to this brave new world (for me) of online writing. I mean, I have been ‘writing’ forever and not always on paper. Many other creative people out there; I’m sure, can attest to the constant stream of words, images and ideas which flow like the Amazon through our minds. Be they clothing designs, visual concepts, or strange and imagined lands; there has always been some part of my brain disengaged from the world around me. Crafting some form of prose which filled in the gaps or created windows where ‘real life’ often left me wanting.

christine- amazon river Pictures, Images and Photos

My point here is that, I now find I have an opportunity to voice some of that endless river. I have discovered a new headwater where before I thought there was only an underground channel. And it is daunting to say the least! I am finding the discipline of truly embracing writing in all its forms has caused me to plunge into the unknown. To take the leap between imagining what could be and finding out what will be and accepting the consequences whatever they may be.

I embraced the old adage ‘better to remain silent and have people think you a fool, than to open ones mouth imprudently and confirm it’. But if I am being honest. Really, I hid behind it; for fear of being told I was foolish or vapid I did nothing. I now see this is an even greater crime, to have a gift no matter how small and do nothing with it is far more foolish and cowardly than step out in honesty and truth and simply be the real me.

I am quirky; I see life from a different angle than most. I am distracted; forever lost in the details afraid I will miss something miraculous. I am normal; I change nappies and avoid doing the laundry. I love deeply; my husband, my children, my family and friends. I dream abundantly; I love going to sleep I never know where I will end up!

How much I have to offer I really don’t know. However, I do know that because it is me offering it; what comes will be unique, singular, diligent and  unbound. I have indeed found a new headwater, there will be the peace of idyllic stretches, there will be the turmoil of rapids and the exhilaration of waterfalls. I invite you to journey with me as I wade into these new waters and explore their hidden depths.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie Giddings
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 00:21:07

    This is a really strong piece Amelia. I really encourage you to take that journey because this was very moving. Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

