Mirrors, Google Maps, and other agents of Satan

jeppe-hein-mirror-labyrinth-2006-2008-metal-frame-high-polished-steel-super-mirror-aluminium-zinc-coated-metal-240-units-each-240-x-15-5-x-3-7-cm-installation-view-at-krauss-residence-new-york-2

Well hello there fellow air breathers. Yes, I am aware it’s been a while since I’ve shown this blog any love, but really who’s paying any attention. Essentially this blog is a place where I can process my internal dialogue, this is all well and good when said dialogue is focused on chocolate, Benedict Cumberbatch’s chin or whimsical artwork of narwhals. Don’t tell me narwhals aren’t freaking awesome, because they are. So is Benedict. I love you Benedict.

But what of my dialogue of late? It hasn’t been happy, whimsical or even diverted by a certain intellectually stimulating chin. It’s been dark, and sad, and angry, and quite frankly more than a little bit lost. This has been frightening, not because it’s not ok to be sad, but rather because I couldn’t climb out again, at some points I didn’t even want to.

There’s a certain duality that exists inside of me. There’s the part that hungers for rationality, for stability and rightness, for all things to simply be a balance of light and shade. Then there’s this other side that’s forced itself into a dominant position. This part of me that is destructive, impatient, selfish and with little compassion.

There’s a constant battle with a nameless anxiety that sits in the centre of my chest and steals my breath. I know what is inside. It is dark and it’s not worthy of love, praise or even acceptance. All of this exists together at the same time inside of me. a swirling vortex of desolation and hope both warring for real estate in my mind.

It’s exhausting.

I’m exhausted.

Now don’t get me wrong, I can still laugh. In fact this war inside me has made for some pretty hilarious circumstances. For example, just the other day I was getting ready for a road trip. I knew that I was in for a few hours in the car on my own so I thought I would use the time to try and reconnect with God. Well done me. So, I selected the Hillsong United playlist on Pandora and set off. I was super pleased when the first song that popped up was Oceans. Great song. Then, the Google Maps lady starts giving me directions on how to get out of my own driveway. My switch flipped, and I started swearing at the map lady. Now, just take a moment to consider the irony. I am full-rage swearing at a disembodied navigator because I want to sing to Jesus. It’s official, I am insane.

But am I? Am I really? Or am I simply exhibiting the symptoms of a deeper problem. There is darkness inside of me I know that it’s there and I know I can’t fix it. However, rather than fixing my eyes upon the ONLY one who can (Jesus – for those playing along at home).  I have been surrounded with mirrors, mirrors that reflect all the beauty and promise around me, yet the moment I try to go through them into what they portray, all I see is myself. My flaws, my failures, just me. And then I think that the real reason I can’t possibly do, or achieve, or have anything that is good is because of me. That by simply existing I disqualify myself from life.

But thats not right is it. Because Im not seeing truth, I’m seeing a reflection of the truth. A simulacra. A cheap souvenir shop reproduction of a priceless gift. A gift that I have already received. It is already mine through Jesus and the life he gave me.

And so onward I say, beyond the mirrors. Into the greatness of today, and the promise of tomorrow. Because that is what I choose. To see above. To see with a clarity that can only come from the One who made me. My friends, hope and peace are very grand companions, I encourage you to never take them for granted.

imagessigh…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lamimartin
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 22:41:25

    As someone who suffers from anxiety I can totally feel what you are going through.. Just tonight I was happy and then something happened and I was a crying angry mess threatening to leave everyone haha! Now I am at the computer a little more calmer and a lot more tired! Anxiety/depression can be so so tiring!

    In all of this though I saw a light tonight, I saw that you had a blog post up. And although I had no idea what it was going to be about, I clicked on the link, and I am so so glad that I did! Now I am not happy that you also suffer but I am grateful that there is a Sister in Christ who understands..

    Never underestimate when you feel compelled to write a blog, you really brought comfort to me tonight.. Now let’s go and smash some mirrors!!

    Reply

  2. Natalie Giddings
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 02:17:10

    No kidding I wanted to stab Google Maps in the eyesballs for exact same reason on Saturday morning!

    Reply

  3. Faith
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 11:50:14

    Mirrors….

    All I can say is YES!

    If you read this little post Amelia, you will know what I personally am on about…

    However, I know that eventually the mirror WILL show me in a new light, I’m thinking yellow or ORANGE. And definitely CORAL for you!

    Reply

Leave a comment