Day 4: A Letter to Someone I Hate

You know who you are.

You show up just when things have just settled down. We never actually invite you in but somehow you always seem to find an opening and then you set about destroying whatever peace we managed to find.

Even your voice sets my teeth on edge! I flex my fingers with the itching frustration of wanting to end you, wanting to see justice finally served against you and others of your ilk. Those who think they can waltz in anywhere at anytime and hurt whomever they want. Those who think it is their right, their God given purpose in this world to use their mouth to wound and stir up irritation.

I see you for what you are – a parasite. You feed off the life we work so hard to sustain. You wait for just the right moment, that second we unwittingly expose some tender and vulnerable part of ourselves, then you swoop in and do what seems to come naturally to you.

It’s funny, I can’t recall an exact moment when I realised I hated you, perhaps it’s been one of those things I’ve grown into with age. Perhaps it has come with the years of irritation and lost sleep, with the scars you have left behind, not only upon me but upon those I love the most. My feelings toward you have steadily grown from cool indifference to murderous rage. You are not welcome here.

I will not stand by and watch as you suck the life out of my family. I will not simply accept that you are a part of my world and I am powerless against you. No, I will fight! I will be prepared and I will be vigilant.

To all mosquitos who would dare enter my home.

You have been warned!

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 21:13:53

    Way too funny Amelia! You have my complete support haha xo

    Reply

  2. samanthaelbers
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 00:46:26

    Te he too funny! I agree how dare they bite my boy!

    Reply

  3. Tbuff
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 03:46:40

    You are amazing xx

    Reply

  4. Nerida hawkswood
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 07:27:52

    An really enjoying your letters but that was soo funny! Not what I expected.

    Reply

  5. Nicki Edwards
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 21:00:12

    Love to double entendre! Were you REALLY writing about a mosquito???!!!

    Reply

  6. rejuven8d
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 09:50:16

    OMGolly do you know how scared PETRIFIED I was reading this Miss Milla!!!!??
    CHILLS…. the mozzies over your way must be a unique breed.
    LOVE how your words create such an INSTANT atmosphere xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

