Day 17: A Letter to a Twi-Hard

Dearest Twi-Hard,

I am writing you this letter, because quite frankly I feel that you’re in need of a voice of reason before you watch the newest installment of the Twilight Saga. Now I like the movies too, although perhaps not as much as a certain English girl on YouTube (I won’t post the video here because she swears so much!), but I have to admit that some fans make me a little embarrassed to be a 30 year old woman at the movies…

It isn’t the screaming youngsters who disturb me, they’re entitled to their share of teen obsession just as every generation that’s gone before them. I’m thinking for my parents generation it was Elvis and The Beatles, while the faces that adorned the walls of my friends growing up were Christian Slater, NKOTB and for a brief meteoric moment Edward Furlong. So, as I was saying, todays teenage girls are welcome to swoon at the sight of a life-size Edward shaped cardboard cutout at the local shopping mall, this doesn’t disturb me in the least.

No, the demographic that has me cringing are the host of 30-somethings who, inspired by the angst-filled first-love drama in these stories, sigh and pine over the barely-past-puberty lead characters. Frankly it’s gross. I mean ladies, I sat in the theatre on opening night of New Moon and was horrified to see women older than me ogling Taylor Lautner when he took his shirt off! Taylor Lautner was 17 then people, that is just very very wrong.

You need to understand that you are a grown up now, your days of wanting to your life to resemble an episode of  Neighbours or Home and Away are long behind you. By now you should have figured out that real life simply doesn’t happen like this, if it did, you would have survived 2 fires, 3 explosions, 1 hurricane and 1 freak tidal wave, 4 fatal car accidents, 1 case of amnesia and 3 pregnancies 2 of which you were uncertain of the father. I say thank God for a mundane life!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that you shouldn’t enjoy the movies, or even allow yourself to indulge in the nostalgia they evoke. I am simply asking you to control yourself, keep those feelings inside and instead smile indulgently at the teens whose turn it is to obsess. Your life is what you make it, don’t make it a sad and pitiful thing by mooning over children who were still in nappies while you were having your first kiss!

Please just bear it in mind okay?

Sincerely grateful

xo

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rejuven8d
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 00:30:20

    hehe… & i had posters of Johnny Farnham (myissueistheoppositeendofthescale OH DEAR)

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 02:59:11

    Thank you! I was appalled, disgusted and infuriated when other mother’s would swoon and comment over my teen-aged son IN FRONT OF ME!! If men did that about teen-aged girls in front of their dad’s they’d probably find themselves picking their teeth off the floor! Not only that, they would be rightly labeled as creeps and perverts. It is completely sexist. Face it ladies, if you are drooling over teen boys you have entered the Creeper Zone!

    Reply

    • ameliahunter
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 13:27:07

      Kelly! I too have witnessed this with people I know, It makes my skin crawl. You are so right about the role reversal, the ramifications of a man behaving the same way would be enormous! As a mother of sons, my goal is to help my boys understand that character and integrity are what make a person truly attractive, I see my eldest growing into a wonderful young man and I am so proud of him!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

