Dear Sister…

Dear Sister,

I don’t know if anyone has told you today that you are exceptional, probably not. It’s not the kind of thing one throws into casual conversation; but you are. Exceptional.

You care more deeply than anyone I know, you hear the gentle whispering cries of other hearts and seek to answer; where others simply ignore and trample asunder. You are funny, many people don’t know just how funny you are. I do. I hear the little remarks which are clever and witty and sometimes a bit rude. That just makes me laugh even more, no one ever expects that from you.

You’re clever, you solve problems big and small every day. I don’t think you even realise when you’re doing it. People come to you burdened and go away empowered; it’s just a gift you have and it’s gentle and encouraging. You’re brave; in a scared sort of way. You don’t like to face the Big Bad Wolves of this world, but you will. Because you’re strong. You forget that sometimes; but you are.

You are kind. Too kind I think. People don’t always recognise when they have a treasure in their hands. They don’t see you; and they tread carelessly on you. Not deliberately, not cruelly, but I know it hurts you. That makes me mad. You deserve better.

Your mirror tells you lies too. It tells you that your bum is too big and your clothes don’t always look nice. You need the mirror I see you in. It says that you are elegant, and classic. That you are unique and sophisticated. It loves your shoes and thinks you have done a beautiful job on your eye-makeup.

Where are you going today? Will you be alone, or with others? Will you take a sidelong glance at yourself in windows as you walk by? Smile at you for me, okay? And don’t get lost in everyone else. Let your own sail fill with the breeze and once again feel the exhilaration of your life. Adventure is yours, grasp it, run with it.

Know who you are, remember how far you have come.

You are loved

Dear Sister.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 04:51:13

    Wow Amelia – that is so beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Lee
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 14:23:39

    Man, I’m gonna call my sister and try to be nice… Good stuff!

    Reply

  3. Natalie Giddings
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 23:08:30

    Stunning work Amelia, please keep them coming!

    Reply

  4. Lena MacRae
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 23:41:31

    This is one to keep and remember…thank you.

    Reply

  5. Amanda Hunter
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 01:47:37

    I cant see through my tears! Thank you, dear little sister. I love you too.

    Reply

  6. Belinda McDonald
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:21:21

    Gee, you certainly know how to make one wish they had a sister…!
    Great writing!

    Reply

  7. aa
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 06:49:42

    Dear Amelia,

    Wow what a truly wonderful piece of writing and I too see all these wonderful things in her as well .( your sister)
    You are both so blessed to have each other and really love each other which is so up lifting. This is what life is all about loving, showing, giving and telling.
    Thankyou Amelia.

    Reply

    • ameliahunter
      Oct 11, 2010 @ 11:50:49

      Dear aa 😉

      I know you see these things in her, and that you treasure her also. Take care of each other and you will both have such a beautiful lasting friendship! Thank you for the encouragement in my writing it means a lot!

      xo

      Reply

  8. Juliet
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 06:25:00

    WOW! Oh Amelia, I have goosebumps. What beautiful words, and how wonderfully written they are! I felt like you were talking to me, and probably every other reader did too. What a gift! Keep it flowing sis, you’re touching your world with God’s love!

    Reply

    • ameliahunter
      Oct 11, 2010 @ 11:53:49

      Thanks J ❤

      Nothing like sharing the love now is there, bet you get to see both sides of the sister coin each day with your beautiful girls huh!? don't worry, the fights over clothes, tv, hair, boys, computer, music, pets, dvd's, money, time, sport, shopping, food, faces, make-up and any others I may have neglected to mention… will diminish over time 😉

      xo Amelia

      Reply

  9. A Cajun Down Under
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 11:27:49

    Beautiful! Now, I need to call my sister…

    Reply

  10. Kelly B
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 04:14:43

    Amelia, this is beautiful! I love the way you’ve written this.

    Reply

  11. suzie
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 11:35:22

    wow, it sort of took my breath away. You have such a beautiful gift of expressing your thoughts, loved it.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Day 3: A Letter to My Sister | Creative Writer…

Leave a Reply

